The Structure and Governance of AOCC

AOCC is an unincorporated association that operates according to Bylaws adopted by its members. Only the 18 Counties with O&C lands within their borders are eligible for membership and as of 2018, AOCC’s membership list includes the following Counties: Coos, Clackamas, Columbia, Curry, Douglas, Josephine, Jackson, Klamath, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill Counties.

AOCC is governed by a Board of Directors made up of 1 County commissioner from each member County, three of whom are officers; the President, Vice-President and the Treasurer.  The officers and other Directors serve one-year terms and the officer positions are filled by elections held annually. Only sitting commissioners are eligible to serve on the Board of Directors.  The officers are elected by vote of commissioners from member Counties and no County may have more than one of its commissioners serve on the Board of Directors.

The full AOCC membership meets at least once a year to, among other things, hold elections and adopt an annual budget. The AOCC Board of Directors meets periodically throughout the year, as business dictates.  The policy decisions and directions of the Board are carried out by a small staff consisting of one employee and several contract service providers; the Executive Director, Legal Counsel, Resource Analyst, Public Outreach Coordinator and a Washington DC Representative (lobbyist). Other services are obtained as needed. AOCC is funded by annual dues paid by member counties.